How Much Milk Does A Toddler Need?

I love milk!

sad

Often times parents (including my own parents) wonder how much milk a toddler like me should drink. Nutritionists recommend, between the ages of 1-3 years of age, to drink no more than 24 ounces of milk per day. My take on this? I recommend one cup at each meal (16-18 ounces of milk per day).

I prefer whole milk, I need calcium, vitamin D and healthy fats! However, if your toddler refuses to drink milk – don’t worry about it too much – because they can get their calcium from the following foods below:

  • Yogurt
  • Cheddar Cheese
  • Orange Juice
  • Soy Milk
  • Cooked Spinach
  • Cooked Kale
  • Vanilla Ice Cream (best source of calcium if you ask me!)

For a more complete list of calcium content in foods, read the NIH factsheet on calcium.

3 thoughts on “How Much Milk Does A Toddler Need?

  1. Pingback: 3 Cups of Milk a Day? | The Epigenetics Project Blog

Leave a Reply

