The Artful Toddler

Mastering Crayons and Scribbles.

photo

Why use paper when the driveway is just as fine to scribble on? Yesterday I built on my fine-motor skills by drawing on my parents driveway (frankly I got bored with my paper so I experimented with the driveway instead). My choice of art supply? Crayons, and let me tell you: Discovering colors is pretty darn exciting for us little ones!

Crayons are kind of magical because they provide us with a wonderful introduction to the art of making art! I feel like a pint-sized Picasso who wants to scribble everywhere except where you want me to (aka on the paper), but giving me the opportunity to draw to my heart’s content is actually very important and I’m glad my parents let me experiment.

Scribbling helps us develop finger control which we need to use a fork, write with a pencil, and brush our teeth. Plus, it gives us the freedom to choose which colors we like, what kinds of marks to make, and where to put them on the page (boosting our sense of independence!).

So, next time your tot wants to get creative please, let him/her explore (with supervision) because there’s nothing like making masterpieces — just don’t forget a smock (and maybe a drop cloth or two!).

Happy Coloring!

One thought on “The Artful Toddler

Leave a Reply

