Saying Goodbye: The Loss of a Grandparent

I will love you forever.image

2013 has been quite a year for me and my family. Early this year I’ve lost my grandfather (who I never got to meet unfortunately) and just yesterday we found out that my (step-) grandpa in California has passed away.

I’m still too young to understand the concept of “death” per se, but I can feel the grief my parents are going through. My mom hasn’t stop to talking about her own father (I can feel that she misses him every day); she keeps him ‘alive’ by showing me pictures of him and/or telling me beautiful stories of my lost grandfather. Parents may believe that talking about a grandparent can cause unnecessary pain for toddlers, when in reality, talking can help us process our own grief.

The bible tells how to cope with grief as well, for instance John 5:28, 29 says:

“Do not be amazed at this, for the hour is coming in which all those in the memorial tombs will hear his voice and come out”.

Death is not necessarily the end – I firmly believe that we will see (or, in my case – meet) each other again.

3 thoughts on “Saying Goodbye: The Loss of a Grandparent

Leave a Reply

